Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The author infers that leader regardless of field should step down after five years in that a group with new leader is more likely to success as he/she can revitalize the group. Even though, I concede that fresh energy and vitality are essential for success, I disagree with the claim for several reasons.

To begin with, I admit that new manager is likely to cause vitality which is essential for enterprise's success to the group. For example consider Liverpool a football team in England. After Liverpool changed team manager to Klopp, the team had changed a lot. The team became more energetic and playful than before and its performance became superior than before. As a result, the team had won Champions League and Premier League which the team had failed for decade. However, it does not imply that long-standing leaders are always obsolete and tedious. The team's vitality and performance depends to a leader's ability not a period the leader worked. A group with innovative and playful leader can maintain their performance and vitality no matter how long the leader maintained his/her status. For example, Apple, one of the biggest corporation had outstanding performance and achievements through its innovative product even though Steve Jobs had worked as manager for long period. Alex Ferguson had achieved outstanding performance in Manchester United States, a football team in England, winning many leagues and competition over one decade. Shall we change manager of Apple and Manchester United States merely because they had managed more than five years?

What is more, the manager may seek only for short-period profit without considering long-period effect if the group forces the manager to resign. As we all know, the group's manager should have long-sighted eye rather than short-sighted to make success. The group which only seeks for short-term effects are unlikely to success as time flows. However, forcing enterprise to change the leader in five years can induce failure of making long term success, as strategies or polices which concentrates on making long-term positive effects, are likely to need times to make positive effects. For example, Ronald Reagan, former president of United States had dealt economic depression in United States by ceasing cost control which was regarded as natural at that time and encouraging of competition among enterprises. Even though it took time, these polices had finally solved the economic depression and made United States a dominating country. If the United States does not allow Ronald Reagan's reelection and forces him to resign after five years, United States may still struggle with economic depression.

Finally, we should consider that sufficient experience is also significant factor of being successful leader. As CLC(corporate leadership council)'s research that 50% of new leaders fail in three years due to their inexperience and Tom peter's, well-known for business management, emphasis on 'know-how' by stating 'leader learns though experiences' implies the importance of experience, employing new leader every five years can be risky because new leaders have less experience of being in the group than old ones. As the conditions of enterprises are all different, the pre-existing leader probably had more experiences and know-hows caused by peculiarity and singularity of the enterprises which can not be accumulated by leading other enterprises. As we can not expect well adapted policy or leadership from new leader, requiring every managers to resign after five years can cause harmful effect on group's performance.

In consequence, even though I admit that new leader can sometimes induce revitalization I disagree with the statement based on above mentioned reasons. We should provide leader an opportunity to seek for long-term positive effect and should not overlook the experience which is essential for successful leader.