People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

The author infers that people's behavior is largely determined by external forces rather than internal. Some might believe that human behaves by their own choice not by others. Actually Human is the most intelligent species and they have liberties to choose option based their own values. However I believe that external forces such as environment and other people can cause one's behavior. Mainly behavior of a person can not be explained by internal force solely and it can varied by outside factors: their milieu, other people, society, etc.

First of all, some people claim that every behavior is finally chosen by their own criteria not by other's. For example, let us consider Gautama Buddha who was born into an aristocratic family in country Shaka. He was influenced largely by his wealthy environment and expected to be the king of Shaka. However after he noticed too much patients and starvation in his country he finally renounced his status and wealth and became traveler and philosopher. Some people might claim his behavior of choosing to be philosopher and traveler rather than choosing wealth and prospective future was based on internal force not on external force. However even though his behavior was not typical, internal motives were not solely responsible for his behavior. Would he chose same option even if he didn't recognized country's dark side? His untypical choice was also derived by outer environment such as presence of starving and deficient citizens in his country.

Secondly, people's behavior are largely affected by other's. There are many evidence that people does not behave solely. For example, lets consider mob psychology what Tarde and Singhele had established. Mob psychology presents bandwagon effect as one example of affect what other can cause to one's action. Bandwagon effect implies that people sometimes choose a popular option just because other also select that option. For example, "Nearly sold out" which company usually use for their advertisement actually make other consumers buy the product merely because many people purchase it. Likewise in stock investment, novice usually purchase stocks which are famous because they are trendy and not because they actually think these stocks are prospective.

Finally, environments affects one's character and ability of perception which influence behaviors a lot. Research by Francis in Emory university discovered that one's nature and intelligence are largely affected by milieu after his/her birth. To illustrate, let us consider identical twin experiment. The experiment showed that there were lots of difference among identical twins when they were raised and lived in different environment even though identical twin originally share all of their genes. One's values are usually determined by their environment. If he/she was in impecunious condition, he/she might regard money as most important. Or If he/she was under stress because of usual fight between their parents, he/she might consider love as most important. Likewise external forces such as environment can cause tremendous effect on one's values and behavior.

Examples of external force's influence have been presented to state that people's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making. In conclusion, I agree with the author's view that rather than internal motives, outer environment can explain one's behavior.