One year ago we introduced our first product, 'Bargain Brand' breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices, and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success selling cereal, Bargain Brand should now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible.

The author proposes expanding business and begin marketing other low-priced food products because Bargain Brand's low price cereal succeeded last year. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage the Bargain Brand from expanding its business and starting other low-priced food products,

To begin with, the author assumes that 'Bargain Brand' cereal is successful product and that success was due to its low price. Yet it is not logical to believe that last one year success will last long and low price is big reason of its success. Since the company introduced its first product last year, maybe customers bought the cereal not because it was cheap but because it was curious. The customer could be disappointed to its quality and would not rebuy the cereal. We need more prolonged data to evaluate the performance and need reasons why customers bought the cereal to conclude whether its low price was appealing to buyer.

Secondly, the author assumes that companies producing the top brands have failed to competing with Bargain Brand even though they tried to lower their prices and had several plan. However we cannot be sure that they will fail to competing with Bargain Brand in subsequent years. There are many plans that need times to be established well. They might just need more times to implement their plans and policy to make their products cheap. If they succeed in lowering their products in next years, Bargain Brand may need to raise their previously cheap product. Then they might lose many customers since low price was their essence identity.

Thirdly, the author assumes that the Bargain Brand can make other low-priced food products just because they can make cheap cereal. Ingredients differ among foods and therefore costs for each food are varying. Without considering cost needed to make particular food product, we cannot take for granted that the company can offer cheap food product to its customers. For example, cheap cereal was possible to make because the ingredients needed to make cereal was cheap. However if they want to make other foods such as meatball, pasta, etc they should offer them higher price to make profit. Therefore without more precise evidence, we cannot determine that the company can market other low-priced food products.

Let us assume, though, that above assumptions will all hold up. Then we are prompted to ask whether the other economical food products will woo to prospective customers. The customers might already have specific preferring brand in other fields. Or people might consider quality more than economical properties when buying other food products. With Baby food, for example, mothers will set higher priority on the quality rather than price of food. They might not choose Bargain Brand product just because it is economical. Therefore without considering the characteristic of customers buying other food products, it is hasty to believe that low price will lead to a success.

A close examination of all the assumptions made in the author's proposal reveals that the Bargain Brand does not have enough justification to start marketing other food products. Although the proposal certainly points out a possible course of action, the company should not act until they have more information.