"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

The author claims that there will be increase in demand for heating oil during the next five years in the region. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While the connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage the author from being sure.

To begin with the author believes that the homes will use oil as their major fuel for heating merely because they had traditionally used it. Yet there is no reason to believe that the tradition will continue for the next five years. As we all know, there are no traditions that last forever. In past, for example, people used carriage, horse, etc when they moved and sent letter when they need communication with others located far away. However recently people rely on cars, airplanes, train, etc when moving to other city or country and send e-mail or use cell-phone to contact with others. Likewise, we cannot be sure that people in northeastern United States will use heating oil during next five years just because heating oil is traditional way to heat their house during winter.

Secondly, the author's claims depends on the assumption that the winter will be cold during the next five years. He or she cites that the region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures and this pattern will continue. However the author offers no detailed information any further: How much was it below from normal temperature? The region's heating season might be just little colder than normal: too little for denizens to recognize and use oil for heating. The author should provide how much was northeastern colder than normal to strengthen his/her claim. What is more, we cannot assure whether the climate forecaster's prediction is true or not. Even though the technique to predict climate developed a lot, accurate climate prediction is still challenging. There are too many factors that can affect the climate but not detected easily. Also there are many un-known factors that can cause huge change in climate. The climate forecasters might miss some of these factors and the heating season in the northeastern may be not actually cold enough to induce citizens to heat their home.

Finally the author presents the trend that many new homes are being built in response to recent population growth as his/her evidence. However the fact that there are many new homes does not always entail more citizens. The population of northeastern might not increase correspondingly to recent population growth for several reasons. The area may lack educational institute so that make parents hesitate to locate or it may have dirty environment or air pollution in the area may be too harsh to live. Therefore without more plausible reason to claim that citizens in northeastern will increase, it is not logical to determine that heating oil will be popular during the next five years.

To sum up, the author's assumption is logically flawed by above mentioned reasons. The author should closely examine all other factors and conditions before claiming. More detailed data and information are needed to make us assure that the region will experience an increased demand for heating oil in future.