Teachers should be retrained to get new knowledge.

Some people argue that teachers should not be mandated to be retrained. However, I firmly believe that teachers should be retrained and updated their knowledge for the reasons addressed below. First, being retrained can prevent teachers from teaching wrong information. Moreoever, retraining process can lead improvement of their lecutre's quality.

To begin with, getting new knowledge by being retrained can keep teacher from teaching incorrect information. As one of the main goals of teachers is to teach correctly, it is important for teachers to be equipped with correct knowledge. However, teacher may have incorrect knowledge as it can be revealed that some information which was believed to be true was actually wrong for diverse reasons such as change in policy or new reasearch result. Compared to the teachers who are not been retrained, teachers who are continuosly updating their knowledge are less likely to have outdated information and therefore they are likely to teach correctly. To illustrate, there were two Korean teachers in my high school: Song and Kim. Whereas Song continously updated his knoweledge by retraining, Kim was lazy and refused to be retrainined. One day there was change in Korea grammar policy and Song can correctly teach with changed knowledge as he recognized the change. On the other hand, Kim did not know that there was a change and she taught her students an outdated information. There was a question about the change in the test and most of the students leaded by Song got wrong whereas most of students in Kim's class got it right. As a result, Kim was awarded by the school but Song was punished severely.

Furthermore, retraining process can help teachers improve their lecture's quality. Being retrained can provide teachers an opportunity of having a valuable lesson by experiencing of being learner. Such experience allow teachers to understand student's perpective well and realize what makes students hard how can make student understand easier. For example, I taught computer science to high school students for part time job and I did not know whay students have difficulty in understanding comuter language's semantics and how to make them understand easier. However, one day I participated to the seminar and learned a new computer language. By learning a new computer language I acknowledged that the best way to understand computer language's semantic is to implement a program by using the language. Therefore, I strated to teach students by leading them to implement a program using the language and this was a effective way to make student understand the language's semantics a lot easier.

To sum up, retrained instructors are less likely to teach wrong information and retraining process can help instructors develop their teaching method. Therefore, I believe that teachers should be retrained continously.