The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author proposes building a number of new dormitories since Bukingham's enrollment is growing. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While the connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage the college from constructing more dorms.

To begin with, the author assumes that existing dormitory space will be inadequate if increase in enrollment continues for many years. Yet there is no reason to believe that this trend will continue long. Usually fashions do not survive long. In Korea during 10 years from 1980 to 1990, for example, physics and astronomy were the most popular subjects for high school students. Therefore, most of the freshman students wanted to study at a university where physics and astronomy departments were well developed. Increase in enrollment of the university, unsurprisingly, became the trend. However, this favor of physics and astronomy did not last long and majors such as engineering and medical are popular nowadays. Thus, we must ask, whether increase in Buckingham matriculation is just being momentary or not. Without more grounded prediction of Bukingham's enrollment, we cannot determine whether the college should build more dorms because of current tendency.

Let us assume, though that current trend in increasing enrollment will last long. We are then prompted to ask whether the increase in Buckingham registration will finally make existing dormitory space inadequate. The author offers no information about the students's preference of dormitory. The majority of students entering Buckingham College actually may not need dormitories for several reasons: already having residence near the college, not preferring dorms, etc. Without more detailed information about demands of dormitories it is hasty to conclude whether more dorms are needed.

Finally, even if we assume that the above assumption will all hold up, we cannot take for granted the demand of new dormitories. The author claims that since average rent for an apartment in the town has risen currently, students will have difficulties in affording off-campus housing. However, the author does not offer information about the town's household condition and about the rental price. The town may have multiple housing options other than apartments such as share house, villa, independent house, etc. Also, even though the recent price rise on the rent for apartment, the rental price may be still low because of slow rate of increase or originally low rental price before it rises. Therefore, before judging the need for new dorms, we need more clues such as current rental price, rate of increase, options for housing, etc.

A close examination of all the assumptions made in the authors' proposal reveals that the college does not have enough justification to build more dormitories. Although the proposal certainly points out a possible course of action, the college should not act until they have more data.