It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

The author infers that it is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them. Whether one should compromise or not is a controversial issue. On one hand, some people argues that adhering to one's belief and being obdurate can cause interpersonal problems and sticking to his/her erroneous belief sometimes can cause disaster. On the other hand, adhering to one's belief can make people lose their self identity and make society chaos. I believe that adhering to one's faith is more boon rather than bane and I will explain my viewpoint in more detail.

To begin with, I admit that being rigid and inflexible in revising his/her belief is not beneficial. It can sometimes cause tremendous damage to society and human. For example, consider Adolf Hitler who was leader of Germany. Being obdurate to his racism and not compromising his faith to others, he and his partisan finally triggered World War 2 which was disaster to world. If he chose to compromise his wrong belief rather than sticking to his idealism, the world might not experienced the war.

However, despite of the above example, I believe that adhering is more beneficial than harmful. Adhering to own beliefs can enhance our self-recognition and self-dignity or at least prevent us from losing self-identity. Values and faith form a foundation for our identity and personality and it plays an important role in one's lives. If people always compromise their opinions to seek temporary pleasures and comfort, they will finally lose their self-identity. For example, consider a politician who sets a honesty as first priority. Sometimes in particular circumstances, he may be tempted to act an immoral behaviors such as bribing the police officer to mask his drunk driving or taking illegal medicine for pleasures. However in consequence of following for immediate happiness rather than maintaining his belief, identity as honest politician will finally disappear. Instead or temporarily happiness he will be frustrated with effaced self-identity and feels deep self-hatred which can be too burdensome. Likewise blindly compromising one's own beliefs can make people lose their identity and dignity.

What is more, compromising can be harmful to entire group or even country. A society which compromises of individuals who are compromising their fundamental principles and values for their own sake will likely to experience serious chaos. For example consider the police in Mexico. Most of police in Mexico compromises their honesty for their greedy objects such as taking bribes from gang and allowing them to commit criminals such as importing and exporting illegal medicine, killing and kidnapping people, etc. In consequence, Many kinds of corrupt are rampant in Mexico and even government can not control these corruptions. Likewise, if individuals in society allows their faith and principles to compromise, not only do honesty and trust will become rare in the society but also everything will become unexpected, and the bases of the community will be unstable.

In consequence, I admit that being sticky to one's own belief is not panacea and it actually could cause some problems. However I agree with the statement in that one who blindly compromises his/her faith could be harmful to not only individual itself but also to the entire society.