"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author proposes investment in Consolidated Industries because the need for heating oil will be increased for next five years. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While the connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage us from investing to the company.

To begin with, the author assumes that since the region has traditionally used oil for heating, this tradition will continue. However there is no reason to believe that the region will rely on oil for heating their house. As we all know, there are no traditions that last forever. People traditionally had used carriage when they moved in the past. People traditionally had used letters when they contacted with people in distance. However nowadays, people use cars, trains, airplanes or other transportations when they move. People send e-mails or phone calls when they communicate with someone. Likewise people in the northeastern United States may rely on other methods to heat their house during winter. Therefore we cannot conclude that there will be increase in demand for heating oil during next five years.

Let us assume, though, people in the northeastern United States actually continue use heating oil for next five years. However it is still hasty to claim the increment in need for oil. The author assumes that the region will experience cold winter because climate forecasters predict it. However climate forecasters are not always correct. Even though development of climate prediction technique had occurred, accurate climate prediction is still challenging. There are too many factors which affect climate and not easily detected. There are also many unknown factors which bring huge climate change. The region can experience warm winter because of unknown or undetected reasons. Therefore we cannot determine whether the winter will be cold in the region or not, and cannot surely claim that heating oil will be trendy.

Finally, the author's claim depend on the fact that many new homes are being built in the region. However more homes do not imply more denizens. The population of the region may not correspond to the recent population growth. People may prefer other areas than northeastern to live for several reasons: lack of proper educational institute in the northeastern, dirty environment in the region, etc. Therefore the homes that are constructing can be empty and the heating may not be necessary for next five years. In the conclusion, we cannot take for granted the area's population boost and the increase in need of the heating oil.

A close examination of all the assumptions made in the author's proposal reveals that the author does not have enough justification to invest the Consolidated Industries. Although the proposal certainly points out a possible course of action, the author's argument reflects unsupported claims without clear reasons or evidence.