Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

The author infers that colleges and universities should demand their students to have experience of studying abroad. Indeed, studying abroad can be beneficial in that it can widen student's sight which society requires for and can provide better opportunity to study. However I disagree with this view in that studying in a foreign country is costly and there may be some cases that studying aboard is not good option.

Nowadays, society becomes more global and it requires people having large perspective and studying abroad can actually help students broaden their perspective. Studying abroad might also provide students more developed and superior education. For example, Elon Musk who is successful leader of Tesla born in Republic of South Africa but studied aboard in USA. Lee Kun-hee, a leader of Samsung also expand his perspective while studying in a foreign country. Without those, there are too many people who had expand their knowledge and sight by studying in a foreign country.

At first glance, the claim that author argues to be somewhat convincing, but further reflection reveals that it omits some substantial concerns that should be addressed, thus not cogent enough. First of all we should consider the cost of studying aboard. Cost of studying is usually quite expensive. It includes not only tuition but also includes living fees, rental fees, textbooks, etc. While there may be some students who has strong wealth and do not regard the cost burdensome. However without a doubt, most of students would regard cost of studying abroad as expensive and mandating students to study in a foreign country could forestall their concentration on study.

What is more, for some students, there will be no need to study abroad because the universities in their country are already well developed and diversified. For instance let us consider a student who is majoring computer science in the United States. The universities in the United States had the most-updated and developed knowledge of Computer Science. Also more than 50% of students in the university are from other countries. Then he/she may not have any advantage of studying abroad and may not have willingness to study abroad paying high cost. Likewise, let us consider the student who studies vocal music in Italy. Since Italy has the best curriculum for studying vocal music, mandating student to study abroad is unjust.

I partially admit that studying in a foreign country could be great opportunity for students to widen their sight and learn most developed education. However I strongly assert that colleges should not mandate every students to spend at least one semester at a foreign country because it can hamper student's focus on study due to its expensive cost and studying abroad can not always assure better teach.