The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

The author infers that the well-being of the country's citizens can successfully imply the effectiveness of the country's leader. Country's leader is for the citizens and therefore well-being of the country's citizens are important indicator of leader's performance. However, evaluating leader is much more complicated job than just measuring citizen's happiness. I disagree with the statement in that every country has its own specific environment and policies should sometimes viewed with long-term perspective.

Some people argue that the most important role of country's leader is to make its citizens happy and make them feel comfort because the leader is for the country's citizens. Many people also regarded country's with high welfare as great nations with great leaders. For example, United States where have the most developed welfare system and comforted citizens considered as the greatest country in the world. Likewise the leaders who are considered as great manager such as Lincoln, Roosevelt actually leads the well-being of the country's citizens.

However, evaluating the effectiveness only by considering the welfare of the country is too simple-minded. Actually assessing the leader's performance is more complicated because each country has its peculiarity and has their own problems. For example, let us consider country in Africa. Africa's leader could not lead his high well-being of citizens merely because its lack of funding. He may actually achieve greater performance than any so-called 'effective leader' if sufficient money was provided. It is unfair to treat the leader as ineffective and incompetent merely because the country's welfare is not highly developed. Likewise country where war is imminent, should spend most of their money for military not for citizen's wealth to save the nation. If we evaluate a leader only by achievement about well-being of citizens, he/she can be assessed as ineffective even if he/she had successfully managed the war.

What is more, there are policies which should be viewed with long-term sight. Some policies need times to make positive effects and therefore it is not logical to regard leader's achievement as incompetent or unsuccessful just because current state of well-being of citizens is not high enough. Leader who develops new renewable energy, for example, will bring huge success such as independence to oil, well preserved environment, etc and should not be regarded as ineffective just because the policies of developing new energy source do not make immediate positive effects. Likewise, leader who seeks only for short-term effects without regarding long-term can cause immediate positive effect but finally will bring disaster in future such as Japan's lost decade, Korea's IMF Crisis and he/she should not be regarded as great leader.

In conclusion, I admit that well-being of the country's citizens are important factor and primary role of country's leader. However assessing performance of leaders by examining the well-being of the country's people can miss specific conditions of nations and can lead regarding shortsighted manager as effective. Therefore I disagree with the argument based on above mentioned reasons.