The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author proposes concentrating more on educating people about bicycle safety rather than encouraging bicyclists to wear helmets. He or she offers an interesting argument but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage the government from focusing more on educating bicycle safety and neglecting encouraging bicyclists to wear helmets.

To begin with, the author presents the study that suggests the increase in the number of bicycle-related accidents to his or her claim. However the phrase "bicycle-related accidents" could be misleading because it is too vague. Does it include only accidents that occur during driving? Or are accidents such as stealing other's bicycle, damaging other's bicycle for fun, etc are altogether included? Because, such events are not related to wearing helmets or bicycling, we should access to study more precisely before claiming the government should reduce educations which encourage the bicyclists to wear helmet. What is more, even though we assume that the study only includes the accidents which are related to bicycling and helmet, comparing only the absolute number of incidence could be misleading. If the bicyclists have increased 1,000 percent during the same ten-year period, for example, then the ratio of accidents to bicyclists has been declined one to fifth during the same period. Therefore it is hasty to conclude that wearing helmets make bicyclist to take more risks and cause the increment in the accidents.

Secondly, the author unfairly assumes that wearing helmet is the reason of accidents boost. Yet there is no reason to believe that wearing helmet is the primary reason of increment in accidents for several reasons. First of all, the traffic condition differs a lot during the period. The traffic condition become more complicated because more people drive their cars, more traffic lights, more road, etc. Secondly, the accidents can occur even though there is no bicyclist fault. Drunken driver might just bump to bicycle or the pedestrians might run across the road even though the traffic light was red. Therefore it is unfair to claim that boost in accidents was primarily due to wearing helmet.

Finally, let us assume, though, that the above assumptions will all hold up. We are then prompted to ask the whether the number of serious injuries reduce by encouraging less to wear helmets. The author offers no information about seriousness of the accidents. The accidents might cause minor injuries because the bicyclists wear helmets. The injuries might be more serious if they did not wear helmets properly. Therefore without the information about magnitude of these accidents, it is hasty to conclude that decrease in serious injuries will be accompanied by concentrating on bicycle safety rather than wearing helmets.

A close examination of all the assumptions made in the author's proposal reveals that the government does not have enough justification to centering bicycle safety and relegating wearing helmets to peripheral. Although the proposal certainly points out a possible course of action, the government should not act until they have more information.