Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim regarding university coursework reflects a benevolent intention to provide every student with a well-rounded education. I agree that it is beneficial for a student to have a broad foundation in the arts and sciences, as that is what will most empower him or her in society. However, this claim is most prescient in the case of undergraduate students, who are undergoing university education for the first time. A diverse education provides great benefit to these students, but graduate students, who are approaching their education with narrower goals, may find such diversity unnecessary and burdensome.

For undergraduate students, the claim holds true. Consider an adult who desires to make a career change from literature to engineering. Without a basic foundation in science, the barriers against this new field would be too great. One scholar who has great intellectual breadth is Noam Chomsky, who is a foremost scholar in the diverse fields of linguistics, cognitive science, and political theory. Multifaceted scholars like Chomsky could not develop without a diverse background in the arts and science.

For graduate students, on the other hand, such requirements would pose a wasteful constraints. Those who enter graduate school have often lived in the professional world for years. They have already been exposed to a multitude of fields, and their reasons for entering a university are much narrower and more targeted. What is more, the pursuit of a graduate degree is often funded by one's employer. Employer of a design company, for instance, would certainly be frustrated if he or she sent his/her employee to study graphics and was required to pay for additional courses in chemistry and art history.

The above arguments show that, when the time is right, a multifaceted education is crucial, but later in life, a narrower approach is ideal. Undergraduate students need a diverse foundation in a variety of fields. For graduate students, who have presumably already received this diverse foundation, coursework can be more specialized. The debate over the purpose of university is an old one. However, the multitiered approach to scholarship - one containing successive levels of degrees- may help us find that debate's resolution.