Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The author infers that in any field including business, politics, education, government leaders should step down after five years in that revitalization through new leadership is surest path to success. I admit that giving fresh energy is essential for success, however long-standing leader does not always entail obsolete methods and it actually can induce vitality. What is more, the leading status requires lots of experience and mandating five years to managers could make managers seek only short-term effect. Therefore I disagree with the author.

To begin with, some people argue that new leader bring freshness to team and it is necessary to manage the team successfully. For example, let us consider famous football club Liverpool. After Liverpool changes team manager to Klopp, Klopp changes a lot. Their team environment became more energetic than before and team member were being more vigorous. As consequence, Liverpool had won champions league and premier league which they failed to accomplish for decades. However it does not imply that fields with leaders who manages for long periods does not have energy. Steve Jobs, for example, was leader of Apple more than ten years. However he had completed lots of innovations: I-pod, I-phone, I-mac, etc which were acclaimed for its creativity. If Apple mandate him to relinquish his status, Apple might not make such accomplishment and might be just ordinary corporation not an exclusive one.

Secondly, mandating leaders to resign their status after five years could discourage leaders from focusing on long-term effects. As we all know, there are several plans and projects which need times to make positive effects. However if long period of management is not assured, the managers might be reluctant to begin the project and even though they begin it, it is less likely to complete. Obama Care, for example, was possible to established because United States allowed reelection. If United States does not allow reelection many great policies might not be successfully accomplished or not even started.

What is more, sufficient experience is big factor of being great leader. Nowadays society becomes more complex than ever before. Therefore to make superior performance as leader, he/she should consider lots of aspects and factors and it requires experiences. Based on research by CLC(Corporate Leadership Council), 50% of new leaders fail in three years. Tom peters who is well-known for business management also emphasizes 'know-how' saying leader learns though experiences. In consequence, Immature leaders are more likely to fail than mature ones and mandating people in power to step down after short periods reduces the pools of prospective leaders who are mature.

In conclusion, I disagree with the claim for above mentioned reasons. Even though employing new leader can bring revitalization to enterprise, fields can be still innovative even though they employ same leader for long periods. Demanding leader to step down after five years will cause disadvantage to those fields rather than causing benefit.