The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author proposes increasing the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all homes to make more profit. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While the connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage the company from making commodious family rooms and kitchens.

To begin with, consider the nationwide surveys assessing most-desired home feature preferences. The author assumes that the stated preference for large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen will lead to more profit if the company builds homes that satisfy these features. Yet it needs more verification. First of all, nationwide preferences can differ from the company's area's preferences. The residents in company's area might prefer small family room since high proposition of them are single. Secondly, the author offers no information about when does the survey conducted. As we all know, trend changes fast. If survey conducted long before, it's result might be anachronistic. Thus we must ask do survey's results really reveals the area's current preferences? Without answering the question, we cannot determine whether building extensive family room and spacious, well-appointed kitchen merits the company.

Let us assume, though, that the surveys indicate real interest. We are then prompted to ask whether the real interests will lead actual behaviors. People's actions do not always correspond to their preferences. Even though they prefers roomy family room and broad, sophisticated kitchen they may not have enough money to buy. Or they may not consider buying new house since they may already had one or moved house recently. Therefore we can not conclude that the company should build homes that are meeting the dweller's desires.

Thirdly, the author mentions Domus Construction's high performances was due to their homes that provides the resident's desires. Yet he or she needs more verifications. There are many factors which are responsible for high prices. The areas might have well-established educational institutes which induce higher price. The effective road-systems or clean forests near by might cause costly price. There are no reasons to believe that features satisfying the villager's inclination was the only reason that leads the company's achievements.

Finally, the author unfairly asserts that larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room. He or she provides no data about the cost needed to make larger family rooms and kitchens and how much money saved by removing the dining room. Commodious family rooms and kitchens may cost much more higher than the saved by discarding dining room. Therefore without comparison of the cost and saved money, we cannot conclude whether resident's desires can come at the expense of the dining room.

A close examination of all the assumptions made in the author's proposal reveals that the company does not have enough justification to make larger family room and kitchen. Although the proposal certainly points out a possible course of action, the company should not act until they have more information.