In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Numerous inventions have been made in the past that have significantly contributed to their respective field of study. There have also been various failed attempts in inventing something innovative. Therefore, it is important for a person to study about the past events to contribute significantly to a particular field. Therefore, I mostly agree with the given prompt mainly for two reasons. However, there are certain circumstances where knowing about the past might not have a significant impact in influencing a person.

To begin, when a person studies about the inventions made by scientists and the impact those inventions has had on the betterment of society might greatly inspire him/her to make such a contribution. For instance, the invention of Alternating Current by Nikhola Tesla, an Electrical engineer, is one the most important invention that powers the world today. The invention of current has completely changed the lives of people all over the world. We use electric current to power everything around us from mobile phones to the satellites that revolve around the earth. Therefore, when a person studies about this invention he would definitely get inspired to make a similar contribution to the society. The person wouldn't have been inspired if he didn't know about the past achievements and it would be improbable for that person to make a significant contribution.

Furthermore, it not only important to study about the past achievements but also about the failed attempts in making such a contribution. As Edison said, "I didn't fail 1000 times, but I have found 1000 ways how not to make an electric bulb". Therefore, studying about the failures can teach a person some important lessons he/she couldn't find in any scientific books. For instance, considering an invention in which Nikhola Tesla couldn't succeed. He envisioned providing unlimited power to all people on the world but couldn't succeed in it. However, he has successfully proved theoretically that such an invention is possible. Hence, if a student learns this he would be inspired to implement the idea which Nikhola Tesla couldn't. Therefore, this would lead to a significant contribution in the field of science. Hence, the influence that the past has on a person can significantly can help him to make some ground-breaking contributions to that field.

However, there are certain instances where a person comes with an extremely innovative idea that no one in the past has thought about. For instance, when Bill gates, the founder of Microsoft, found the world's first operating system there have been no achievements in the past related to that field. Therefore, some times, it is possible that a person makes a significant contribution to a field without being influenced by past accomplishments. However, this is very rare and only a very few people are capable of making such a contribution. Hence, for the majority of people it is almost impossible to accomplish something significant without being influenced by past achievements.