A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education curriculum is different in different countries. But, there are countries where the curriculum is not same throughout the nation until students enter college. This might cause confusion among the students as well as the universities while admitting students from different states. Therefore, I mostly agree with the claim that all students must study the same curriculum until they enter college mainly for two reasons. However, this might not be true in all circumstances and there are certain scenarios where the curriculum needs to be altered to suit the interest of students.

Firstly, most of the students do not decide their career path when they are in high school. Therefore, these students must be given an opportunity to explore all the fields of study and make sure they have covered the pre-requisites in all fields of studies. This would help them when they finally decide their field of interest since they would have already covered the basics of that particular field. For instance, if a student decides to pursue high undergraduate degree in the field of Electronics engineering, he would have already covered the basics during his high school which would enable him to easily progress further in that domain. This is possible only if the curriculum is same for all students. If not, he would have skipped the subjects related to Electronics during his high school which would hamper his progress. This is not only true for the field of Electronics engineering, but also for various other fields like computer science, history, physics, etc. Different students might pursue their undergraduate in different fields. Therefore, it would be helpful if diverse subjects are made mandatory for students during their schooling.

Secondly, not all countries are capable of providing all the subjects that students' wish for. Small countries like Iran and Sri lanka might not be able to provide a diverse set of curriculum to their students. For instance, one student might want to study Japanese during his High school and another student might wish to study Spanish. Under circumstances like these, it would be impossible for schools to find teachers who teach these subjects. Therefore, having the same curriculum for all the students in the country till High school seems to be pragmatic and an economical option.

However, there are scenarios where providing a flexible curriculum could help students with their future endeavors. For instance, if a student decides that he is going to pursue computer science as his Undergraduate major, he would prefer to choose subjects related to computer science during his senior year. Therefore, it would be useless for him to study about history and economics during the senior year. Under these circumstances, providing a flexible curriculum would be better choice.

Therefore, I believe that having same curriculum throughout the country till high school is necessary because it will assist students in choosing their career paths. However, this argument is subjective.