Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Arts has been a growing field in the past few years and attracts more people each year than the previous year. People from all over the world travel to different places just to witness the artistic brilliance exhibited by the artists in that place. Therefore, arts also play a significant role in the economic development of a region. Hence, I largely agree with the prompt and feel that government funding is required to ensure that arts can flourish and be open to all people. This is mainly because government funding ensures that everyone has a right to contribute to arts and it doesn't belong only to a specific group of aristocrats.

Firstly, the government funding could help preserve the unique piece of art which could draw in more art lovers from all across the world. For instance, the painting of Monalisa which was drawn by Leonardo Da Vinci in 16th century A.D is still a hotspot of tourist attraction. Thousands of tourists from different parts of the world visit the museum in Paris which is the home to the painting of Monalisa. This plays an important role in the economic development of Paris. Not only the government but also the local business people get benefitted from the plethora of tourists visiting the place. It is also a treat for art lovers to witness such a masterpiece in close proximity. This is possible only due to the setting up of the museum using government funding. If the government hasn't funded to preserve the artwork then an individual would claim the ownership and keep it locked in his house. Therefore, government funding is very crucial in preserving arts.

Secondly, the government funding could encourage more artists to come up with more unique pieces of art which could help flourish the arts in a particular place. Proper support from the government is important to make sure that the artists keep providing some masterpieces which could help improve the status of arts in a particular place. If government funding is not provided then only specific people who are interested in arts might support the artists. This could drastically decrease the number of artists in a place.

Hence governments must make sure they provide enough support not only to preserve the existing artworks but also to encourage more artists to keep contributing to the field of art.