The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A letter was sent to client providing advice on a possible investment in Consolidated Industries. The firm has based its argument on the performance of homes that used oil for heating their homes in the last couple of years. The writer of the letter has jumped to a general conclusion without providing enough evidence and as such his argument is not cogent but rife with holes.

To begin with, the writer states that last year the region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and that it is expected to have such a weather in the coming few years. However, he fails to provide information and data on the performance of the oil heated homes in the region during that particular period. Did these homes perform properly? Were they heated enough, or did the heating system fail? Did the residents need a supporting heating system? How can we know that the oil heating system is the best system to be used in extreme weather, without proper data. The argument failed to provide such data and as such we cannot know if these heating systems should be used in this region that is undergoing weather change anymore.

Secondly, the writer goes on to state that new homes were constructed in the last year and therefore we will need oil for these homes. He jumps to the conclusion that these homes were designed with oil heating systems. The argument did not present the type of heating system that was incorporated in these new residentail structures. What if the designers opted for gas heating or elecrtic heating or a mix of the two in order to beat the extreme weather. In all cases the need for oil will be rebuked and the whole argument refuted. In order to strengthen his argument the writer had to clearly state that these new residential homes were designed with oil heating systems incorporated.

Furthermore, in order to substantiate his argument he should have stated the efficiency of that system in the last year and how happy were the residents with the performance of their heating system. He could have done a survey after the storm in order to present client satisfaction with the performance of oil heating systems. Such a survey will likely promote the usage of these systems and will increase the credibility of his argument.

Thirdly he recommended the investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil. The writer recommends this particular company which is his firm without presenting its portfolio or what makes this company stand out among other companies which operate in the same business. Why would that person work with this consolidated business rather than another oil company? Did the writer provide a survey of this company’s performance in the business or a newsletter…

Finally, I belive that the writer’s letter is rife with holes and needs to be presented with substantial evidence in order to be credible. In its present state it promotes a personal point of view rather than a promotional objective product.