The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Residents of Plainsville are movinfg towards a healthy life, by enrolling in health club, buying running shoes and enrolling in exercise training. This might not

Merchants in Plainsville might have been selling shoes and exercise equipment at great discounts which would lead to their increased sale. As a result of greater discounts, residents and gym-owners from nearby areas buy health equipment from Plainsville. The increased sale of the equipment may be a result of a newly set up factory manufacturing exercise equipment in Plainsville, thus reducing other costs.

5 years ago, Plainsville was a small town and there were not many residents as it is the case today. The town is booming with upcoming employment opportunities as a result of new industries set up in the area. There has been an increase in recreational activity centres and educational institutes in Plainsville. Consequently, residents are applying for membership at the local health club. Weight training and aerobics classes encourage people to have a healthy diet and exercise on a regular basis in order to maintain their health. The instructors at these classes may not be endorsing the consumption of artificially made health products as they do more harm than benefit.

Plainsville's school children are mandated to participate in 'Fitness For Life' which puts an importance on advantages of regular exercise. Many health food products available in the market have harmful ingredients which might be harmful to the school children. Also, these health food products are directed and marketed towards adults.

As the residents of Plainsville focus more towards their health, it does not lead to the fact that their will be increase in sales of health food. Health can be maintained by physical and mental exercise along with good eating habits.Thus, optimism of the vice president of the Health Naturally that setting up a new store in Plainsville will be highly profitable may be based on unwarranted past experiences. The vice president must look into detail the other factors before building up a new store in Plainsville.