As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are those who argue that with increasing knowledge that we attained over the years, things are made less comprehensible and more complex and mysterious. There is some truth to that statement, however the sentiments expressed by the topic statement is not necessarily correct. As we acquire more knowledge, there are many things that do become more comprehensible to us, but also at the same time it creates more complexities and mystery due to information overload and how it reveals the amount of other knowledge waiting to be discovered.

Knowledge that we have gained over the course of human history have provided illumination of many matters that was once strange and mysterious to our ancestors. During primitive ages, where science was at its most rudimentary form, our ancestors have sought to find explanation for many phenomenon like lightning, or where rain came from. Due to the lack of sophisticated instruments and knowledge, they often attributed natural phenomenon with religious and otherworldly qualities. As we build on the knowledge acquired by our ancestors, our methods for testing the physics of nature became more sophisticated, and explanations and theories became increasingly concrete, and thus many things become more comprehensible to us. Through this, more knowledge is readily made available to us as time passes and we continue to collect and build more and more upon knowledge that was previously gleaned.

However, with new comprehension comes new issues that clouds our understanding and make things more complex and mysterious. In today's day and age, and with the emergence of new technologies, information and knowledge has become so readily available to us. We are constantly bombarded by information from all direction; from the newspapers and other literary materials, from the television, the movies, when we turn on the radio, or even from the billboards when we go for a drive or take a walk. In fact, this excess of knowledge can impair a person's comprehension of things and ability to make informed decisions. The amount of information one needs to sift through compounded by new facts constantly being added is enough to confuse anybody. Hence the appropriate term 'information overload'. There are also other factors to be considered. Knowledge is there if one seeks it; however, the authenticity and the integrity are not always guaranteed. With the amount of information that is available out there, excess does not always mean more comprehension, and it can make matters more complex and confusing to the human understanding.

As we discover and acquire new knowledge, we also realize that we have only tapped the surface of the wealth of knowledge waiting to be discovered. After all, they say the process of learning is never ending; there are always more theories and ideas to explore. With increased knowledge, we also have a more refined sense of inquiry, a more methodical way of approaching an area of study. A greater understanding of the mechanics of a field of an area opens up a world of complexities that we have never considered before. For example, the field of astronomy. As our ancestors first started studying the stars, they only recognized stars and planets by their positions in the sky at different times of the day or year. As the study of the stars progressed through history, our knowledge of astronomy deepened, we realize that there is more to the simplistic ways of studying the stars. Different colors of the stars indicates the lifespan of the planetary bodies, and we discover the movement of meteors and so on, and the gaseous components on different planets. The more we understand, the more complex we realize these studies are and how there are more mysteries that are waiting to be unveiled.

In conclusion, knowledge that we acquire does not necessarily make things less comprehensible. Knowledge that we gain provides us with insight and understanding of many things around us. However, in this modern time and age that knowledge can create complexities and mystery due to the vast amount of knowledge that are out there. Also, the knowledge that we have acquired helps us understand the more complex nature of many studies out there.