Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalisation through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

Amongst many other assets, leaders are one important asset of society. Having a good leader is very crucial for the success of a particular organization; be it a political body, government, or a private firm. Because a leader’s decisions and actions have an impact on the masses. In this essay, I will argue against the claim made by the author, by suggesting that leadership in any field of work should stay as long as they are doing their job properly. Let us discuss this further.

The author suggests that for the establishment to be successful; leaders should be changed every five years. However, this imposes some critical questions. Firstly, Why should we replace someone when they are doing their job properly? It is a rare quality to lead people. Few people can persuade and motivate other human beings. It is almost impossible to guarantee that a successor is as good as its predecessor, especially when it comes to leadership skills. Take a look at the tech giant Apple. After Steve Jobs was fired from being CEO of Apple; Apple’s creativity and success started to plummet. Eventually, Apple had to rehire him for the same role. Reason: He was simply amazing at his job. Now it brings us to the next important question.

How can we be so sure that five years are good enough to groom a potential leader? This five-year cycle of changing leadership actually might harm upcoming leaders. By giving a deadline, we are merely starting a race. We might hinder the growth of new candidates by forcing them to learn things within this deadline. Everyone has a different way of improving, learning, and becoming successful. This is no different for leaders. Everyone has to follow their path. Therefore they need a different amount of time to become good leaders.

Having said that, I also believe that there should be a change in leadership. But it should follow a pragmatic approach. Instead of having a fixed tenure, current leaders should groom potential heirs and give them the space they need. With the mutual agreement, current leaders should step down to give the torch to the new generation. This will bring more creative minds to decision making roles without sacrificing an individual’s goals of reaching their full potential.

In conclusion, leadership is a rare trait, and we should retain good leaders as long as we can; to give ample time to new leaders to be mature enough to lead