The following memorandum is from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing, Inc.

"According to a survey last year of parents who purchased the Elkie, our most popular doll, 90 percent reported that although their children were extremely satisfied with the doll's features, the doll quickly wore out with use. In a follow-up survey of the same parents, 80 percent reported that they would recommend a more durable version of the doll to their friends. In response to these surveys, we have created the Elkie-Advanced Doll, which has similar features to the original Elkie Doll but is manufactured using the same higher quality materials used by Optima Doll Manufacturing, our most successful competitor. Because parents can now purchase the beloved Elkie doll and be sure that it won't quickly wear out with use, we predict that our profits will exceed those of Optima Doll Manufacturing this year."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Elkie doll, which was produced last year was reported to have worn out ealier than expected by a quorum of the users’ parents. This complaint led Primo Doll Manufacturing Inc. to concoct a better of the doll: Elkiee-Advanced Doll. With this new doll, the company believes their profit will proliferate. This belief was based on the fact that the production of this new doll was carried out with more advanced material and hence, the firm predicted the new doll will be more durable than the old doll. Albeit, this sound convincing, the president still needs to answer some questions before the claim is totally accepted.

The president assumed that Optima Doll Manufacturing is successful because it uses durable material for the production of its dolls. Nothing in the claim tells us the quality of Optimal Doll’s product. What if the company is successful because of its business strategy? Or because of its market target? What if the company’s material are not as durable as the material Primo Doll firm used in producing the first doll: Elkie Doll? These questions need to be answered before we can assume that Optimal Doll is successful because of the durability of its product.

Moreover, the president stated that the company will make more profit this year than previous year, assuming that parents will show interest in the new doll and the revenue generated will cover the expense used in creating the new Elkie-Advance doll. With the advance material used in creating this new doll, the price will definitely be more than the previous doll. Is there any assurance that parent will pay for this cost? Do parents, after the floundering of the reputation of the former doll, will still prefer to patronize Prima Doll’s product over other products in the market?

Also, the author assumes the survey method adopted was perfect. We need to question how the survey was conducted. When the survey was conducted, was other alternatives offered to the participants of the survey?

In conclusion, while the claim of the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing might sound convincing about the profitability of the new product, the hypothesis also poses some questions that needs to be answered to be fully accepted. The president needs to shows that the quality of Optima Doll’s product is the only secret behind the company’s success. Apart from this, the president also need to show that the new Elkie product will be more durable than the former Elkie product. The president would also need to show that clients are willing to pay for the high cost that comes with production of this advanced doll. More so, the president need to show that survey mentioned was properly conducted. If answers are provided to these questions, there is high chances that the president’s claim of increased profitability is true.