Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which

adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how

these examples shape your position.

Government offering gratis education for the denizens of a milieu will obviously help proliferate the number of literates in that community. Consequently, this will lead to increase in innovation. However, this magnanimous act also comes with myriads of adversaties which include increase in tax levied on the citizens, decline in the value of education, and extinction of weighty vocational trainings. Hence, government should make education free from rudimentary to secondary level, while tertiary education should be subsidized.

To begin with, free education, which is crucial to the development of a nation, will have an averse effect on the economy. This is as a result the pecuniary burden associated with free education. A quorum of the public funds, which is also needed to fund other momentous sectors of the economy such health and transportation will be devote to education sector. This will lead to an increase in monetary burden on the government. Consequently, tax levied on citizens will be increased and the economy will become more austere.

Apart from free education leading to increase in economic hardship, it will also lead to sharp decline in the quality and value of education. With education made available at no cost, student will become oblivious of the value of such necessity. School pupils will no longer be wary of failure as prolonged learnining time will be the only consequence of failure, which in most cases, is considered trivial. Hence, education will become bagatelle and this will gravely affect the prodigies that are churned out of such learning system.

On the contrary, a reasonable individual might cavil that free education will offset students financial burden. Further, they might also contend that cost-free learning will increase the availability of education to the vulgars and peons. This is true to some extent. But we also need to consider the effect of free form of education on other vocational skills. Communities need quotidian skills such as tailoring, fishing and farming to thrive. With the advent of free education, most of these skills will be neglected. The upshot of this is the gradual extinction of these intrinsic skill and thus, the gradual decline of the settlement’s economy.

In summary, provision of free education to the hoi-polloi will serve numerouse advantage as it will make education available for the common people, increase literacy in a society and spur innovation. However, the form of education system also comes withs its own disadvantages. These demerits include gradual decrease in educational value, defunct of vocational skills and increase in tax levied on citizens. Therefore, education, which is necessary for a nation to develop, should b made free from primary to secondary level while tertiary level should be subsidized to retain its value and make education available for common people.