The following memorandum is from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing Inc According to a survey last year of parents who purchased the Elkie our most popular doll 90 percent reported that although their children were extremely satisfied with the doll

In the memorandum, the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing Incorporation concludes that, by the this year, the company's profit will surpluses those of Optima Doll Manufacturing, their most successful rival, as they will use higher quality materials, which are currently used by Optima Doll Manufacturing, to produce more long-lasting version of the most popular company's doll named Elkie. The president has decided to change to improve the raw materials of this doll based on the result of a survey that shows parent's dissatisfaction with Elkie's longevity. Nonetheless, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions, that if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be addressed.

First of all, does this improvement have any effect on the price of the doll? In the survey, parents talked about only the options and durability of the Elkie, but they did not mention the price. This might happen because they were completely satisfied with the price. If this change results in higher price of the Elkie, which is likely to happen, the parents might not buy Elkie as it is no more affordable. If this scenario has merit, the president's conclusion is significantly hampered because it excludes the change in the price of Elkie.

Secondly, do parents suggest their friend to buy the dolls made in Optima Doll Manufacturing? As it seems, the parents did not mention any kind of doll or any manufacturer in the survey. They just told that they recommended their friends to buy dolls which are more lasting than Elkie. It might be possible that those dolls are manufactured by other companies than Optima Doll Manufacturing, which apparently are ignored by the president. The argument does not hold water if the above is true.

Finally, is more selling is the only reason for higher profit of Optima Doll Manufacturing? The higher profit rate of this company could be due to other factors, for instance high range between manufacturing cost and the selling price of their dolls due to optimal manufacturing method that company uses. Even it is possible that the manager or managers of Optima company has made better investment than the manager or managers of Primo company. If it is true that the difference between these two companies profit stems from different sources, the credibility of the writer's claim decreases substantially.

To recapitulate, it is possible that increase in quality of Elkie and replacement of Elkie by Elkie-Advance, which is made out of higher quality materials, provide Primo company a vast amount of profit that by this year they will outcompete their most important competitor, Optima company. Nevertheless, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unanswered questions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Therefore, the writer must provide answers to the following three questions: does the increase in price have any influence on selling rate of Elkie-Advanced?, do parents recommended buying dolls that are manufactured by Optima corporation?, and the quality of dolls and selling rate is the only source of difference between two companies various profit rate?