Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species despite the expense to humans in effort time and financial well being Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts especially at a great cost in money an

During the last decades, an innumerable number of plant and animal species have become extinct or have been in danger of extinction for one reason or another. However, some governments and environmentalists have taken some conducive steps toward saving endangered plants and animals. There are different opinions on how involved governments should be in this process and how much money the governments should pour into this channel. Some people hold the idea that governments should not spend more money on saving near-extinction animals or plants than they do now. Others, with whom I comply, believe that governments' efforts are inadequate so far, and governments must allocate more budgets to this process than before. In what follows, I will delineate my viewpoint on the ground of two persuasive reasons.

Without a doubt, the most consequential point corroborating my stance on this subject is that human activities are the main reason that these animals and plants are in danger of extinction. Governments usually do not make any effort to thwart those activities leading to animal or plant extinction since they do not regard it as important as political or social issues. Hence, they must compensate for their negligence by pouring vast amounts of money whenever needed to save an endangered animal or plant. For instance, in Iran, a scarce tiger species is near extinction because of overhunting in recent decades and the Iran government's lack of competency in controlling these overhunting activities. Currently, many Iranian unanimously agree that the government should take some serious steps toward saving this tiger and helping it to recover again. Therefore, this example illustrates that societies must do whatever they can to save endangered flora and fauna.

Although the previous reason is the first one crossing the mind at first glance, another remarkable point deserving some words here is that some actions that societies take in order to save animals and plants, regardless of how expensive they would be, not only benefit those animals or plants but also provide the local and global societies with some invaluable results. Take a certain kind of bird that is in danger of extinction because of air pollution in an urban area. This high level of pollution in the urban environment can be transported to nearby areas by winds. On the other hand, the rate of lung cancer has increased dramatically in urban areas in recent decades. Therefore, if the government allocates enough budget to increase the quality of air in urban areas, both individuals and nearby animals benefit from this decision.

To make the long story short, reflecting upon all the aforementioned grounds, one soon realizes that societies must pay more attention to animals and plants. Governments should do whatever they can to improve the animals' and plants' living quality and help those that are in danger of extinction, no matter how much money these actions would cost, for the sake of those animals and plants, as well as themselves and other human beings.