The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the

suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of

the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last

year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of

traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area

residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to

commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate

the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument.

The argument that creating a bicycle lane on Blue Hghway to reduce rush-hour traffic makes a number of unwarranted assumptions regarding the new lane encouraging commuters to use bicylces, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic. Taken as whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these unstated assumptions do not hold true, the argument totally falls apart.

Firstly, the author assumes that because the addition of a new lane to Green highway caused an increase in traffic jams, addition of a new lane on Blue highway will also cause an increase in rush hour traffic. This argument is flawed because both highways are different and they are situated in different locations. Green highway might be situated in an industrial area or a very busy part of the town and Blue highway might be situated in a small part of the town. For this argument to be valid, the author needs to look at other circumstances that might have led to green’s highway causing more traffic jams after the addition of the lane and compare these circumstances to that of blue highway to determine if the adition of a new lane will lead to increase rush hour or not.

Secondly, the author assumes that adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway will encourage the commuters to use bicycle because the residents are keen bicyclist. This argument is seriously flawed there is no evidence to show that the residents use bicycle during these rush hours. They might prefer using bicylces on weekends for leisurely stroll around town. Also, they might prefer riding cars to and from work, thereby still leading to an increased rush-hour traffic. For this argument to be strengthened, the author needs to provide evidence showing the period of time the residents ride bicycle most. If this evidence is shown and it is observed that the residents actually ride bicycle most during rush hours, then the argument is valid. If not, the argument is flawed

Another leap in the argument is that the author assumed bicycle usage will reduce rush hour traffic. The reverse might be the case as bicycle usage might even increase rush-hour traffic because the use of bicycles will be increased and this might lead to more traffic jam. Also, increase in bicycle use might lead to more people using bicycles, thereby leading to more bicycles on the highway. For this argument to be strengthed, the author needs to provide evidence showing increase in bicycle usage will lead to decrease in rush hour traffic as this evidence will help determine the validity of this idea.

In conclusion, the argument that creating a bicycle lane on Blue Hghway to reduce rush-hour traffic makes numerous unstated assumptions that seriously undermines its validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed, the argument totally falls apart. Thus, adding a bicycle lane to Blue highway might lead to an increase in rush-hour traffic rather than decreasing it.