In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

is it truly impossible to make salient contribution in any field without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field? Some believe that it is impossible to make significant contribution in a field without first being impassioned by past achievements in the field. Others believe that early inventors were not influenced by antecedent achievements before these inventors start making impactful contribution to their fields. However, in contemporary days, the influence of past achievements within a field is needed before a significant impact is made.

Being strongly influenced by past successes in a field before salient contributions are made is true in the modern world. Afterall, the next big thing is as an improvement of the last big thing. For instance, the improvement of a television or monitors from a box-like device to a slim, LCD device. This development would not be possible if the developer was not fascinated by the past achievement. Thus, being strongly influenced by past successes in a field of endeavor is necessary for important contributions to be made in such field.

Another example include the various advances in the construction of bridges, houses and conveyances. Nowadays, we see open bridges or cable-linked bridges everywhere, beautiful edifices is beginning to fill the world, conveyances such as cars, planes and trains are now performing other functions apart from their primary function – which is to transport goods and people from one place to another. All these additional features are as a result of important contributions in a field and these contributions are impossible without the contributor first being influenced by past successes in the field.

True, some might argue that early inventors needed no form of motivation from past achievements before they contribute immersely to their field. for instance, Thomas Alvan Edison, the father of light bulb, had no past achievements to motivate him before building thousands of patented works. Grahams bells, the inventor of telephone was not influenced by previous achievements in his field before he devised the telephone. This is true to some extent. Time has passed and things have changed. There is little to be discovered again in the world. What is left for human to do is the development of past devices and for these developments to be impactful, one needs to be strongly influenced by past achievement.

In summary, it is necessary for one to be strongly influenced by past achievements in any field before one could make significant contribution in the field. Though, it earlier inventors were motivated by other things apart from past achievements in their fields, but things have changed. Nowadays, what we see around us is the development of past achievements and few inventions which are not possible without the developer or inventor being strongly influenced by past achievement in his or her field. Ergo, making significant contribution in one’s field nowadays, requires strong influence from past achievement.