Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Are understanding and empathy the most important qualities of an effective teacher? Does a teacher need to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students? Many factors are used to determine an effective teacher, such as diligence, fluency, uprightness and understanding. Although, some believe the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy while some others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for student. However, effective teachers need to be demanding and rigourous and at the same time, these teachers need to have empathy and understanding in other to relate well with the students.

Teachers are seen as the student’s second parent and for effective parenting to occur, rigorousness, understanding, high expectation and empathy are needed. Teachers need to have understanding and empathy for them to relate effectively with the student. A good relationship between student and teacher brings the best out of the student and simultaneously makes the teacher’s work easier. For example, students have different ups and downs in their life that some times tend hamper their mode of study. With a teacher’s empathy and understanding, a teacher can help such student to transcend his problems and get him back to his studies.

Although, understanding and empathy are needed for student to excel, teacher being rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students is also needed to make students serious. A rigorous teacher petrifies student as these students will be fraught with the fear of not being reproofed by the teacher. Additionally, teacher being demanding in their expectations makes student exceed their might, thereby bringing out the best in student. A typical example is the life of Ben Carson, the first surgeon to separate joined twins. Ben Carson had a rough childhood as he was always tagged an oaf because of his inability to assimilate knowledge. With his teacher’s rigorousness and high demand from Ben’s teacher to Ben, Ben was able to overcome his inability and became a successful doctor in life.

Although, some might argue that teachers being rigorous and demanding in their expectation paralyze student with fear, thereby making student lose concentration atimes. This is true to some extent but student must not be handled with levity at all times. For most student to excel, they need iron hand. To add to this, some might argue that handling student with empathy and understanding makes student indolent. This is also true to some extent but teachers don’t need to be priggish all times. Student need some form of symphathy for them to be successful in their studies.

In conclusion, an effective teacher need to possess understanding an empathy. But this must not be taken far as student some times need some form of upbraid for these students to be serious with their academics. A teacher who possess these qualities will be venerated among students and his co-teachers as he will be able to appeal to the emotions of students and aid these students during their hard times.