The following memo was published by the Welzaton City Commission A recent nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a safety helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets whe

Given argument is a ten year study performed to co-relate two important factors for bicyclist that is percentage of increase in accidents with percentage of increase in people wearing helmets. It concluded from the study that people tended to take more risk while wearing helmet thus, even with increased number of people wearing helmet, the percentage of accidents occuring also increased. A better alternative was provided to educate people about bicycle safety rather than encouraging them to wear helmet.

The argument doesn't provide us with neccessary information about the reasons behind the accidents. This tends to open a wide field of reasons for it. There might be several cases where accidents were caused due to heavy vehicles such as cars and trucks and a bicyclist was injured. In such a scenario wearing helmet couldn't protect the bicyclist beyond a certain limit. There might have been regions with infrastructural issue in bicycle lane which caused accidents. There might be regions where there wasn't favourable climatic conditions such as rain or snow and people used bicycle which caused accidents. Thus, a better statistical approach has to be used to give us a clear picture about the reasons behind the accidents.

There has been a mention people tending to take high risk, which might not have been contributed due to helmet. As there is rapid growth in the field of technology, better bicycles might have been produced over the period of ten years. These bicycles must have been developed with better safety equipments, which might contribute to boost people which caused accidents in long run. People's general pyschology changes over such a long period, which might have resulted in a general trend of increase in people who loved to take risks. This could be a leading factor which contributed to accidents.

Another important factor which was not discussed in detail was what was the average age group of people who faced accidents. There might have been the case that there is a large amount of children who are trying to learn bicycle and injuring themselves. There might be a large group of people who might have faced accidents due to their poor eye sight or old age. As the study is conducted nation wide a region wise report needs to be generated which could help us analyse such factors in detail.

Thus, by keeping aforth all the factors, there needs to be deeper research in certain field which could throw light on the given topic. The report suggesting the government to educate people on bicycle safety has a valid point. This has to be done but, not by ignoring the importance of helmet,which is one of the most important safety equipment for the bicyclist.