The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite

increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream — a dairy product made from milk — at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument that dairy farmers of Relanna are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits may seem logical at first glance. But however, the author corroborates this claim with some evidences that seems insubstantiate while neglecting some salient alternative explanations that may undermine his claim. Until these alternative explanations are addressed, the argument remain invalid.

Firstly, the author states that the number of dairy farms in relanna has Increased by 25-percent. While this may seem logical at first, one will need to first understand the real values behind the percentage as an initially high value with twenty five percent increment may seem valid. But, on the other hand, if the initial value is a minute amount that then increased by twenty-five percent, then the increment is found incongruous.

Secondly, the author assumes all farmers can afford the new innovation, thereby making all farmers to retrieve more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. Suppose, perhaps, if almost all the dairy farmers in relanna are destitute and are unable to afford the new innovation. Also, assuming most of these farmers are uneducated to know how to operate these new innovations. Thus, one could see that the claim that all farmers are capable of collecting more milk in less time with minimal human intervention is flawed.

Thirdly, the author neglects the economic status of the country by asserting that dairy products made from at the local market cost twice as they did last two years. The author simply implies that the present currency exchange rate was the same as that of two years ago. This might be the other way round as farmers might even be running at lost because they might not be gaining much from the new price due to the current economy situation. Also, the author neglects the cost of other ingredients used in making these dairies products. These ‘other ingredients’ might be the main cause of the increase of diary food price rather than the milk themselves.

However, the author needs to crossscheck the real figures behind the twenty-five percent increment in the number of dairy farms in relanna. If these values are prodigious enough, then the assertation might be right, On the hand, if these values are scant, then, the claim is flawed. Also, the author needs to corroborate this argument with the evidence that most dairy farmers in Relanna are capable of acquiring the new innovation mentioned in the claim. Finally, the author needs to compare the country’s economic status in last two years with the present years. Comparing these statuses might indicate why most dairies food are two times costlier than they were last year.

In conclusion, the argument that Relanna’s dairy farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits may seem reasonable but the author neglects some alternative explanations to bolster is claim. Unless these alternatives explanations are taken into consideration, the argument totally falls apart. Thus, the author might be making a major mistake by assuming farmers are making more profits.