"All nations should help support the development of a global university designed to engage students in the process of solving the world's most persistent social problems."

The speaker asserts that all nations should help develop a global university aiming at engaging students in the process of solving the world's most persistent social problems.

Imagine all countries around the world working together to build a university where young students get inspired to make the world a better place and even being a part of such effort. This is an idea that almost sounds too good to be true, but I must point out that this is unrealistic and would contribute little to solving social issues.

First and foremost, it would be next to impossible to coordinate all countries in the world in establishing a university. A lot of countries in the world are hostile to one another and it would be unrealistic to exclude politics from this multinational campus. For example, the Moscow Olympics in the 1980s was boycotted by many western countries including the United States, mostly because of the cold war and that the Soviet Union shot down a Korean passenger flight which flew dangerously close to its military bases, killing hundreds of civilians on board. Political tensions constantly emrerge in many parts of the world, and countries might pull off from this World University or use their fundings as a leverage when tensions arrise.

Secondly, even if we live in a magical world where countries are very friendly to one another, establishing such a university would not contribute much to solving social issues. Scientists, researchers, and university professors all around the world are working on social issues like gender inequalities, crime, economic problems, etc. If some students are interested in solving these issues, they can approach these professionals and become research assistants or their phd students. If students and researchers are interested in issues happening in another part of the world, there is nothing that stops them from going there and conduct field research. Building a global university would therefore be unnecessary and a bad allocation of money and resources.

In sum, asking all nations to jointly develop a global university that aims to engage students in solving persistent social problems would be unrealistic and unnecessary. Such a university, if established, would be affected by political tensions among countries. Moreover, the existing universities are more than enough to inspire students and let them explore in the fields of research they are interested in.