All nations should help support the development of a global university designed to engage students in the process of solving the world’s most persistent social problems

What are the world’s most persistent social problems? It ranges from Political, technological, cultural problems, among others. Nowadays, some people believe that all nations should come together to support the development of a global university designed to engage students to solve the world’s most persistent social problems, however others assert this is a wrong idea. The prompt suggest that all nations should contribute to the development of a worldwide university designed to engage students in the process of solving the world’s most persistent social problems. After weighing the evidence, I disagree that all nations should help support the development of a global university designed to engage students in the process of finding solutions to the world’s most persistent social problems for three reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the development of a global university comes with a lot of merits that cannot be overemphasized. At the center stage, a global university fosters relationship between countries. For instance, the United States of America and China have been known for their rancorous relationship over the years, If students from the USA and China meet at a global university, they can be opportune to participate in the development of a new technology, a project that will involve all students from different countries, and promote relationship between the two countries, however, there will always be an aftermath. This kind of research allows students to tolerate each other as everyone has a unique characteristics, since they have a common goal which is to achieve success in the research, they will share ideas and knowledge in the process as well as learn even though little about other countries’ culture. This looks easy on the surface, however it might be very difficult for students especially from countries with hostile relationship like USA and China are unable to tolerate each one another and this can lead to failure of the project embarked and even chaos among students and further lead to more animosity between countries. The illustration above shows that it would be quite difficult at the center stage to bring students from all nations together to solve a common problem.

Further, even if the example above is true that students from nation with hostile relationship can work together, it can still be flawed. Language barrier is another limitation. In world today, there are many languages, the most common one are English, French, Portuguese and Spanish. Which language will be adopted by the global university? This is a big challenge as lecturers cannot be delivered in different languages even though it might be possible to achieve, it will be very expensive and time-consuming to achieve. The global university will have to employ a lecturer for various subjects in different language or provide a translator for students in their own language. Research says that students are more likely to perform well at a university if they are taught in the language. For instance, a student from France will have difficulty learning in a Spanish or English medium.

Moreover, a global university will require a general exam or test to be done by students from all nations to get admitted. Since it’s a global university, there will be specific requirements which not all students in all nations might be able to meet which makes this idea not even-handed as some students from certain countries meet the requisites while others will not. For example, if the global university decides to require either English or French language requirement to be considered for admission, students from nation like Brazil, Argentina, and other non-English or non-French speaking nation will be ineligible to apply at the global university. The above example illustrates that the adoption of a global university by all nations might be a subjective one and will not solve any world’s social problems, instead create more.

From the aforementioned examples, it’s evident that even though the development of global university will engage students in solving world’s most persistent social problems, the limitations it comes with cannot be jettisoned. I hereby conclude that all nations should not agree in the development of a global university.