Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The prompt states that any piece of information people referred to as fact should be doubted, as they are always inaccurate. Some people would argue that information would always relevant. However, in my opinion, I mostly agree that information that is believed to be accurate is often proven otherwise for three reasons.

Firstly, most facts in the history of science have been proven false in recent times. For example, prior to the discovery of the causative agent of cholera (a water borne infection), it was believed that some unknown forces were responsible for the outbreak of the disease, and this was assumed to be fact then. However, with the development of science, it is now known that this infection is caused by a bacteria found in contaminated water source. Research, as also shown that most of the scientific speculations made in earlier times have been proven to be false. This shows that indeed some information is in fact incorrect and should be doubted.

Likewise, in the field of astronomy, the most speculations have been confirmed as false. For example, in the early era of astronomy, it was assumed that only the planet earth has the necessary and adequate composition to support life. However, this has been found to be inaccurate, as such compositions are also present on planet mars through the development of advance technological equipment and procedures. Another example is the specious fact that celestial bodies such as the stars are relatively small compared to the earth; however, research has also proven that these bodies are much larger than the earth in size.

On the other hand, some piece of information has remained accurate. For example, the simple rules of addition and subtraction in mathematics have not been proven false till date. Likewise, basic biological theory such as the fact that we breathe in oxygen and exhale carbon dioxide has not been found to be inaccurate.

In conclusion, though it is true that some information that are referred to as accurate have indeed been found to be false, however, this is not true for all information as there are evidence of information that are still very much in use and are accurate.