Before an important exam, do you think it is better to prepare for a long time or only for a few days? Give examples and reasons to support your argument.

Some people think it is better to prepare for an important exam only for a few days while other think it is preferable to prepare for a long time. As far as I am concerned, I believe that it is better to prepare for a long time for an important exam. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in this essay.

First, long preparation means adequate preparation time and it yields good result. For example, last year December, I wrote my general record examination (GRE). The GRE is a standardized test taken by prospective graduate students as one of the requirements for entrance to a graduate school. I prepared to six months for this test, I started my preparation early June. The test is divided into three sections, I used the first two months to prepare for the quantitative aspects and the next two months for the verbal and the subsequent months for the analytical write section. Due to my long time for preparation, I was able to ace the GRE, I got a score of 320 which was perfect for as my proposed school only require a minimum score of 310.

Also, unforeseen situations can be overcome due to long preparation time, during December, my I was nominated by my faculty to represent them in an inter-university competition, my school is located in Akure and the completion will take place in Lagos. I and the other representatives had to travel to Lagos, the competition lasted for 10 days. Within this period, I had to halt my GRE preparation and focus on the completion as it was a very important one for my school. However, my mind was at peace because I have been preparing for a long time to take my GRE test and I was not sway away.

Moreover, long preparation time boosted my confidence. Few days to my test, I stopped all preparation and took rest. This was to keep me in good shape for the test. On this test day, my morale and confidence was high, thus I was able to write the test carefully and intelligently resulting in a good score.

As I have illustrated above, I conclude that long preparation time is better for an important exam because it yields good result, it overcome unforeseen situations and it also boost morale and confidence. A long preparation is a key to success.