Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research is basically the use of systematic approach in a particular course of study; it entails conducting experiment on different forms of samples and drawing conclusion based on the results gotten from this study. Scientific research has brought about various developments in different fields over the past centuries. However, it has also brought about disastrous innovation detrimental to the well-being of human being at large. In my opinion, I mostly disagree that the government should place some restrictions on scientific research and development for three reasons.

First, scientific research has been responsible for the discoveries of cure or a prevention mechanism for major life threatening diseases or infections. For example, the recent corona virus pandemic that, claimed a large number of lives. the invention of the vaccine was through scientific research, this development has brought about the order in which the pandemic has disrupted over the world. Another example is the production of drugs for infections such as malaria which has been a major health concern in West Africa. All these developments were brought about through the continuity of scientific research. Any governmental restriction on these research studies would hamper such major development in the history of mankind.

Second, technological development has been brought about by consistent scientific research studies. Technological advancement such as the innovation of computers, mobile phone, and electric vehicle has been made possible through these researches. Incessant scientific research has encouraged the improvement of these inventions over the years. These scientific developments has been of great use in our everyday lives, as they are well incorporated in our homes, place of work; everybody makes calls using the mobile phone, and goes to work using vehicles. If there had been any form of restrictions from the government on the scientific research studies of these inventions, then it would be impossible to benefit from these developments in our day to day activities.

However, some scientific research has produced disastrous innovations. For example, the invention of biological toxins or viruses which are detrimental to the lives of human being. Another example is the innovation of nuclear atoms and bomb. All these, have been used to only cause harm on the lives of living things at large, and thereby cause significant damage to the human population. Government restriction on such scientific research is however necessary, as these would preclude the harms brought about by such developments.

In conclusion, though most scientific developments from research studies have been proven useful and of great importance, some of these developments are on the other hand pernicious to human being. Therefore, the government should place restriction of scientific research that would produce a development detriment to its people, and not on those of significant use.