People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Why do people attend college or university? Career preparation? Experience? Increased knowledge? University is an higher education institute where students can enroll to their preferred course of study. Personally, I believe people attend college or university for career preparation. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the college or university is the best way to prepare for a prospective career like an engineer, a doctor , a lawyer, etc. at the university or college, you get to learn the basics and rudiments your prospective career requires. You are taught the fundamentals and principles of your course of study for 4 to 5 years, you go internships, you conduct research. All these are preparing for your career. For example, all my life, I have always wanted study engineering. After graduating high school, the only way to achieve my career aspirations is to attend the university. I gained admission to study Civil engineering, I spent five years in the university, gathered experiences through internships, research works and others. Currently, I work as a construction manager for a renowned firm. I am happy and ebullient to practice engineering.

Secondly, attending university gave me the opportunity to meet a lot of friends, I was able to expand my horizon because I grew up in a small town and I was restricted to some social amenities. The university enabled me to move to the city, I was able to network with friends. There was one important friend I made during my study at the university, after our graduation, we stayed in touch with each other via social media. After some moths, he was the one that connected me to the CEO of the firm I currently work. The CEO was a friend of his father. Through him I was able to get my dream job and I am currently fulfilling my career aspirations.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that people should attend colleges or universities for career preparation. This is because I was able to study and practice my dream profession by attending the university.