It is a grave mistake to theorize before one has data

The importance of data cannot be overemphasized. What is data? Data is processed information that can be used to make predictions, generalizations and conclusion. In fact it very common for people to theorize before having data, this approach is what should be really debated on as it is evident that results garnered from data are more accurate and reliable. The prompt recommends that it is a grave mistake to theorize or assume before one has result. After weighing the evidence, I strongly agree that it is a big mistake to theorize before one has data for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, it is possible to extrapolate from previous experiment or event, the outcome of a new research however, this mostly yield inaccurate results most of the time. For instance, in the late 90s the population of Nigeria was estimated to be around 80 million people, this was the data used to create budget as at that time. Over the years population size increases due to various factors such as birth, migration, etc. New population census has not been conducted for a while now to determine the estimate of the current population. Population commission use that previous data gather to predict a possible estimate of the current population however close they predicted, they will still be wrong and this has resulted in economic crisis in the country as the nation is currently overpopulated and there is no actual data to enable the Government to make proper decisions on how to share allocation of budgets to each state. The above illustration shows that population commission has made a grave mistake by predicting the estimated population without carrying out a population count and this has added to the woes of the country.

Further, data provides conclusion and generalizations regarding a research. For instance, consider a final year university student expected to carry out a project. This project will involve him to conduct research based on a hypothesis and provide data in order to make a theory. An engineering student conducting a research on the causes of building failure in a particular region cannot just come up with conclusions without carrying out investigations and providing necessary data. The student will have to investigate the soil type, carry out experiments on the soil in the laboratory to get data needed to make desired conclusion. The data obtained from the experiments can be used to deduce the causes of building failure in that particular region and solutions can be recommend mitigating the effect of causes of building failure. Research says that data if well garner provide accurate and reliable information on what is needed. The example above illustrate that a sound theory can be made only after a data has been gotten and analyzed.

From the aforementioned examples, it is evident that the importance of data cannot be overemphasized and a grave mistake can occur when one theorize before one have data. I strongly hold the position that theorizing after analyzing data is more accurate and more reliable. Don’t you think so?