The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In his editorial in a business magazine, the author states that though there has been a decline in the sales of whirlwind video game over the past two years, that this case is about to be totally changed due to a survey carried out which asked the video game players what features they thought to be most important in a video game. The author has come to this conclusion based on the fact that whirlwind has introduced lifelike graphics in their video game with rigorous advertising programs centered at the age-group -people between the age of ten and twenty-five years old- most likely to play the video games. However, this argument is flawed based on two unwarranted assumptions.

To start with, the author assumed the decline of the sales of whirlwind video games was based solely on the lack of lifelike graphics in the video game as a result of the survey conducted. The author didn’t consider other factors that might be responsible for the drop in the sales of the video game over the past two years. For instance, there might have been an increase in the price of the games which would have discouraged the potential players of the game from purchasing it. In order for this argument to be more valid, the author needs to address the other factors that might have affected the sales of the video game.

In addition, the author stated that the lifelike graphics which were considered as the most important feature in a video game according to the survey carried out, and this lifelike graphics require the most up to date computers. The author assumes that such quality of computers is readily available to the players of the video games. The lack of this high quality computers would hinder the players from playing the game which would in turn not have a change in the current sales of the video game as they wouldn’t purchase it.

Lastly, the author also assumed that since whirlwind has produced games with lifelike graphics and has directed their advertising campaign to people in the ages between ten and twenty-five who would mostly likely play the games. The author didn’t consider that other age group might be most players of these video games and since the advertising program weren’t directed at them,

they would probably not be aware of the new changes made in the video games. In order for this argument to be considered, the author has to conduct more intensive survey to determine the actual age group that plays the video game.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considered flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author considers these other possibilities and perhaps conduct a systematic research study, then it will be possible to whether there will be an increase in the sales of whirlwind video game in the next few months.