The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the memorandum from the president of Humana university, it was stated that over the past three years, the rate of acquiring students has failed to increase and the there has been increment in the cost of maintain buildings-dormitory and classroom space-, to solve this problem, the president has come to the conclusion that Humana university would immediately commence online degree programs like those in Omni university, as this would increase the general enrollment rate, and likewise depreciate the budget problem since there has been increase in the rate of enrollment in online degree program at the Omni university, and there has been tremendous decrease in the expenses for maintaining buildings in the university. In order for these predictions to be deemed logical, three questions have to be addressed.

To start with, are there any underlying factors responsible for the stagnation of the rate enrollment of students at Humana University? There might be some reasons why prospective students have failed to enroll for the degrees offered at the university. For instance, the quality of the education provided at the university might be low which would most likely discourage students from enrolling. Also, the degree offered at the Humana university might not be of interest to the prospective candidate. Therefore, this question needs to be address before the prediction can be seen as logical.

In addition, is online degree program of interest to prospective candidates at Humana University just as it is for candidate at Omni University? The predilection of the prospective students at Omni University cannot be used as a determinant for the student of Humana University, because they might not be interested in pursuing an online degree for reasons such as lack of provision of quality internet connection in the university environment which would preclude candidate from applying, the lack of skill and knowledge required to effectively use the internet for online programs.

Lastly, is the reduction in the expenditure for dormitory and classroom space a result of the incorporation of online degree programs at Omni University? The university might have intentionally refused to allocate revenue to the maintenance of buildings despite its usage, as the students might still have to use these buildings even though the degree programs are online, and also the cost of maintaining the buildings might have come from external sources such as private donations. This question has to be answered for this prediction to be seen as reasonable.

In conclusion, the prediction has it stands now, is not deemed logical due to several unanswered questions. If the president at Humana University should consider conducting a systematic study in order to answer these questions, then it would be possible to determine whether the incorporation of online degree programs solve the enrollment and reduce the budget problems at the university.