"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

A recommendation from the Board of Directors at Monarch Books suggests the addition of a cafe inside the bookstore. They believe that this would attract more customers to the store since it has a large selection of books on all subjects. Moreover, the predicament about where to fit the cafe in the store has been resolved. Monarch Books have decided to discontinue the children's book section since a recent census suggested a decrease in the percentage of kids in a population. Additional evidence provided suggests that Regal books have adhered to a similar approach of opening a cafe inside the store and if Monarch Books does the same, they will be able to better compete with Regal Books. The argument made by the Board of Directors and the evidence provided sounds convincing during the first read, but a closer look unearths a few possible loopholes that could play against the prediction of the Board of Directors.

Firstly, there is a possibility that the customers of Monarch Books are not interested in having coffee or any other refreshments during their time at the bookstore. This could mean that the customers would be infuriated at the decrease in space at the bookstore. These customers would have rather preferred more space for reading over a cafe. It can also be the case that the location where Monarch Books is located already has a few well-known cafeterias that its customers frequent after reading the books. This could pose serious competition to the cafe at Monarch Books and moreover, could lead to a loss of revenue if the cafe is not enamored by its customers.

Secondly, the success predicted with respect to Regal Books is based upon baseless assumptions. There is no evidence on the location of the books store, the type of books it has, the space it has inside the book store, and many more aspects which need to be clarified if a legible comparison has to be made. There is a possibility that Regal books has a huge carpet area that allows it to house a cafe as well as books of all genres. Moreover, the possibility of no cafes around the close vicinity of the store ensures no competition to its cafe at the first place. These conditions make the idea of opening a cafe inside a bookstore, ideal for Regal Books. But without further evidence about the location and architecture of Monarch Books store, it is hard to categorically claim that the idea of opening a cafe will provide dividends to Monarch Books.

Additionally, it is also highly probable that the children used to get along their parents to the bookstore with them so that they can read books of their choice. Since, the child section has been planned to be excluded from the books store. Since the kids would not be visiting Monarch books, it is unlikely that the parents of these kids will visit the books stores as well. This will eventually lead to a high rate of customer churn for Monarch Books.

In sum, the plan of introducing a cafe could bring along a lot of shortcomings for Monarch Books. The plan is based upon incomplete assumptions and knowledge. Therefore, the success of such a plans seems highly unlikely unless the above mentioned shortfalls have been addressed.