We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above passage put forth a recommendation of starting a cafe in the Monarch Book Store. It describes the reason behind it as being reputed throughout the market for a long time, thus, having a large customer base. Also, it makes a comment of replacing children's book section with cafe, the section no more seem to be important with reduction of population percent of under age ten from most recent national census. This set of reasoning does not seem to be enough to make any conclusion and need more solid points.

The author tells that if Monarch Books open a cafe in its store, it would attract more customers. This does not seem to be logical in any sense. There can be en-numerous alternative explanations possible. One can be the huge percent of customers interested in visiting book stores can be some old or reading enthusiast people, who would not enjoy sharing space with cafe. Rather they might prefer some soothing, calm and quite place to concentrate and enjoy reading to its fullest. The introduction of cafe may also invite many people uninterested in reading and that may put bad impact on readers and may find there personal space endangered. Thus, sharing space with cafe does not seem to be good decision for the cafe.

Further, the author adds the plan of replacing the children's book section while establishing of cafe. From this statement we can conclude the mentality of the author to contempt the children books. Before making any kind of decision, the author must confirm, whether the children books are not responsible for significant profit gained by Monarch books? It can also be the case, due to children interested in reading there parent have also developed a habit of reading and thus, became regular customer of the Book store. Thus, closing down section abruptly may hamper the growth of store as well. Another possibility is the store is renown to sell the books of writer mostly famous for their children books. Then it would add a bad reputation for store in market and thus, affect the growth.

Moreover, the author illogically gives us the reason for reduction in reading that will be observed in future, as reduction of population percent under age ten from most recent national census. The most strong point of opposition can be number of people does not decide the rate of reading. Also, no clear statistics or proof of reduction of population in stated in the passage. Another thing is the schools can be one of the prominent customer of the book store for picking the children books in bulk. In such case, they may find it very inconvinient after such action.

Finally, the author must focus on the process of reasoning before claiming anything and take a good decision which would not hamper the growth of store or future of the children. The advantages and disadvantages of the action must be studied thoroughly.