Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people.

Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Art forms a particularly important aspect of many religious cultures around the world. Art that we get to perceive at famous archaeological or excavation sites showcase the brilliance of artists from the bygone years. It also helps people connect to their religious roots based on the art and engravings found at these historical places. Art has helped many archaeologists unearth valuable insights into the historical background of human civilization. Hence, I am a strong advocate of the statement that a monetary support should be bestowed towards art to ensure that it can flourish and be accessible to all the people.

Pastoral backdrop of a country that is characterized by villages and small dwellings are the sources of ethnic art that describes the religion and the culture of that country. We can take the example of India. India is a culturally diverse nation. It has a plethora of cultural and religious sects and each of them have a defined way of going about art. Art can be in form of paintings or weavings on the cloth that form beautiful designs. These individuals have an eye for art, and they use it to earn a living. If the government provides funding for these people or provide adequate tools to these workmen at a reduced price, then it will help the reap higher rewards for the work they do. This in turn will help bolster the economy of the country since the clothing is made in the country and bought by the citizens of that country.

Moreover, art is a form that should not be restricted to the people who happen to be direct descendants of a famous artist or a painter. Art is a medium through which we can promulgate a message amongst the masses. Therefore, the government should promote art amongst people and educate them over beauty of art. If more people start taking up art out of interest, higher would be the chances of discovering a prodigy amongst the masses.

On the contrary, people can argue that making art accessible to all the people will eventually drive art to be labelled as a mundane task. The integrity would be lost since it would be seen that everyone is taking up art and coming up with something. Art will no longer be an exclusive form. But I would contradict by saying that if more and more people invest their time in art. greater are the chances of discovering a new form of art that was previously oblivious to mankind.

I would therefore like to conclude by reiterating the fact that funding provided by the government would go about a long way in ensuring that the culture of art survives in a world which now a days is characterized by digital forms of media.