According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A recent report suggests that the number of cheating cases in colleges and universities is on a rise. The solution to such a problem, as suggested by the arguer, is adopting the methods followed by Groveton College. The arguer provides quantitative facts and evidences to back is recommendation. the evidences seem compelling during the first reading. But a closer look unearths a few alternate possibilities that could prove the arguer's recommendation, unreasonable.

Firstly, the arguer states that the students of Groveton College were made to abide by an honor code which means that the students agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors. What makes the arguer think that the students of other colleges and universities will also adhere to this code of honor? If the students resent this decision taken by their respective institutions. It can lead to widespread chaos within the college. It could have been possible that the kids in Groveton College were amenable enough to abide by such a decision made by their college. But such an honor code being implemented across all the colleges and universities seems like a difficult task to pull-off.

Secondly, students in colleges and universities are often known to pick-up fights and arguments with their peers. As a result, the vanquished individual will probably look to get back at his or her peer. Can the arguer be assured of the fact that the student who has reported his or her peer for allegedly cheating in the exam is honest? It can be possible that the student is falsely accusing the other student of cheating as an act of revenge. This could mean that the student who has been falsely accused will pay for the sins that he did not even commit. The honor code method could prove to be costly for a student if it is put to a wrong use.

Lastly, the arguer hints towards a review which suggests that most of the student in Groveton College claim that they are less likely to cheat with an honor code in place. The question here is that-how can the opinion of a student in Groveton College be compared to the opinion of a student from some other college or university? It can be possible that the students of other colleges are not in favor of honor code. Moreover, it could also be the case that other colleges have surveillance system, as well as stringent invigilators and norms to deter students from cheating. This could mean that the application of honor code in such an institution would be nothing but a redundant policy.

In sum, the evidence and alternate possibilities provided in the paragraphs above put into question the feasibility of the arguer's recommendation. The arguer should take a sound look upon all the possibilities and then come up with a more foolproof recommendation.