The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University highlights a study conducted at nearby Oceania University wherein the high faculty retention is attributed to a program that has been employed by the university. At Oceania University, professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college aged children. Therefore, the faculty committee suggests that Seatown University should employee the same program to enhance morale among faculty and to lure new professors. The suggestion by the faculty committee of Seatown University seems legible in the first reading. Although a few alternate possibilities can prove the committee's suggestion baseless and fallacious.

Firstly, did the faculty committee compare the financial status of both the universities? What if Oceania University is financially stable to employee such a policy? This could explain why Oceania University can impart tuition-free education to the kids of the faculties that teach there. What if Seatown University is not equivalent to Oceanic University in terms of financial stability? This would mean that employing such a policy at Seatown University could pose financial ramifications to the university. And hence, it would not be ideal to introduce such a policy at Seatown University.

Secondly, the faculty committee cites that a high faculty retention at Oceania University is directly related to the free-tuition policy employed by Oceania University and hence, employing the same policy at Seatown University can give similar results. What if the policy employed by Oceania University is one of the many perks that the university provides to it's faculties? This would mean that employing the same policy at Seatown University might not be effective towards maintain a high faculty retention rate.

Lastly, the faculty committee states that instituting a free-tuition policy at Seatown University will boost the morale among faculties and help lure more professors to the university. The faculty committee fails to provide a proof or an evidence that states that introducing a free-tuition policy improves faculty morale. What if the teaching facilities at Seatown University is not ideal or state-of-the-art? This could mean that even after the introduction of free-tuition policy, the faculty morale may still be low. Moreover, poor infrastructure would also dissuade new professors form joining the university.Such an instance would be contrary to what the faculty committee claim.

In sum, the above study conducted by the faculty committee at Seatown University seems incomplete. Moreover, it fails to convince the reader that employing a free-tuition policy would benefit Seatown University.