The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine suggests that it is an ideal thought to invest resources in unmanned space probes and satellites. The reasons cited for the same are as follows. Firstly, manned space flights are too costly and dangerous. Secondly, recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has helped gather a great deal of useful information. Lastly, the author compares manned flight with unmanned space probes and satellites. The reasons cited seem to be legible during the first read, but a close scrutiny unearths a few possible fallacies that may prove the argument to be unwarranted.

Firstly, the writer opines that a manned space flight is costly and dangerous. It is true that sending a man in space is by no means a safe bet. But on what basis does the writer of the argument suggest that it is costly and dangerous? There is no proof in the prompt that verifies his claim. On the contrary, since manned missions are so rare, it is possible that the overall cost of an manned space flight is less than that of an unmanned space probe or satellite. It can also be the case that a manned space misson puts less emphasis on the onground team to control the flight since the astronauts can themselves do it. This would mean that astronauts can steer the flight away from an imminent danger, lot quicker than an onground team that is controlling an unmanned probe, thereby saving the costs of one complete flight.

Secondly, the author of the prompt suggests that unmanned space probes have been through a series of successes. That is the reason why the writer of the prompt suggests the use of unmanned space probes and satellites. The question that can be asked here is the source of this particualar information. It is possible that the souce of information which suggests that unmanned space probes are a success is fallacious. It is possible that the manufacturers of unmanned space probes have bribed the sources to promote the success of unmanned space probes with dubious data. This could well mean that unmanned probes are not that successful after all and therefore, will call into question the writers claim that an unmanned space probe is a succesful piece of machinary.

Lastly, the author compares a manned space flight with an unmanned space probe and satellite. These are two completely different pieces of machines. It is possible that a manned space flight has a few advantages over the unmanned space probe and satellites and vice versa. But for a clear differentiating point between the two, it is necessary that two equivalent machines are directly compared. Manned flights could serve a different purpose to umanned flights. So it could be possible that the best person to choose the use of the two machines could be the astonauts themselves.

In sum, there are a few assumptions and evidences which when taken into consideration, call into question the suggestion of the author. These evidences and assumptions render the position of the author weak. Hence, the author should consider the above stated assumptions to strengthen his or her position.