The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A letter to the editor of a newspaper highlighted the commuters plight as a result of an increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and city-center. As a result, the travelling time for their journey has doubled. The letter undermines a solution provided by the motorists' lobby and supports the inclusion of a bicycle track in Blue Highway. The arguer predicts that adding a bicycle track would reduce rush-hour traffic. The evidences as well as the suggestion of a bicycle track looks legible during the first read. But a closer look unearths possible discrepancies which could undermine the arguer's suggestion.

Firstly, the arguer draws a comparison between Blue Highway and Green Highway and states that the solution adopted by Green Highway would fail at Blue Highway. It is not entirely true that such a situation would occur. What if the road work that was done on Green highway was a misnomer? Therefore, it could explain the reason why the traffic jams did not lessen in intensity. On the contrary, what if the road work on Green Highway was adeptly done, but it goes through a number of housing societies? This could explain why the traffic jams have not decreased. But such situations do not necessarily undermine the motorists' suggestion that an additional lane on Blue Highway would not help abate the traffic jams.

Secondly, the arguer is of the opinion that adding a cycle lane to Blue Highway would be a much better alternative to widening the highway. The arguer opines that cycling is popular among the residents close to the highway. therefore, a bicycle lane will be an added impetus to cycle to work and consequently, the traffic on the highway would decrease. How can the argue be sure that the residents will cycle to work? what if their workplace is fifty miles away? No sane person would even think about cycling fifty miles to work since it would affect his work performance. Moreover, the increase in cyclists also increases the probability of a cyclist getting hit by a car. Building a cycle track just next to a highway is a dangerous adventure and it would be hard to predict the number of residents who would commit to cycling as a mode of transport to work.

Lastly, the effect of widening Green Highway was studied an year ago. An year old data cannot accurately portray the present scenario. What if there has been a decrease in the number of motorists? It could mean that the traffic jams might have eroded in intensity and hence, it bolsters the motorists' claim that widening the highway is a viable solution. In order to strengthen his position, the arguer should present current data and claim that the traffic jam on Green Highway still persists.

In sum, the evidences provided by the arguer in support of a bicycle track are dubious and fallacious. A reader would find it tough to categorically ascertain if the addition of a bicycle track on Blue Highway would be a successful decision. Hence, the arguer should provide more compelling and relevant evidences to bolster his claim.