The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

A letter from the owner of Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager stated a recommendation according to which the owner thinks that modifying the showerheads in all twelve buildings in Sunnyside Towers complex will dramatically increase their profits. The owner states that showerheads in the first three towers of Sunnyside Towers complex have been modified a month ago to restrict water flow to one-third of what it used to be, owing to which, there will be less usage of water and the monthly payment for water will also reduce. Therefore, the owner thinks that modifying the showerheads of all twelve towers will eventually be a success. The owner has based his assumptions a few evidences that also hint towards alternate possibilities that can undermine the owner's final recommendation.

Firstly, the owner of Sunnyside Towers complex has stated that actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available. So then how can the owner be certain that water consumption has truly reduced? What if the low amount of water output has led to residents spending more time under the shower? This would mean that the amount of water being consumed is equivalent to before the modification was made. If such a situation holds true, the owner's prediction about increase in profits would be greatly undermined.

Secondly, if we assume that the water consumption has truly reduced, what assurance can the owner provide that the new showerheads work properly over an extended period of time? The owner has suggested that there were few complaints regarding the shower. Hence, it could be possible that when the modified showers are implemented at all twelve towers of Sunnyside Towers complex, the number of complaints against the new modification start increasing. The dis-satisfaction among the residents of Sunnyside Towers complex could compel the society owner to revert to the previous configuration of showerheads, thereby refuting the owner's claim about increased profits.

Lastly, the owner suggests that it has been only a month since the new showerheads have been implemented. A period of one month is too short a time span to make conclusive decisions. What if the first month is showing promising results regarding water consumed, or the money being paid by the corporation for the water consumed? What if the residents of Sunnyside Towers complex forget to close water taps when not in use? Showerheads are not the only culprit of water wastage, other appliances can also contribute to the wastage of water. In subsequent months, it could be possible that the money being paid monthly has not reduced even after modifying every showerhead in Sunnyside Towers complex. Such a case would again prove the owner's prediction false.

In sum, the owner's prediction is based upon assumptions that are erroneous and dubious. There are several alternate instances that can occur due to which it cannot be categorically stated if the owner's prediction will hold true.