Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Universities and colleges have long been the source of knowledge for a plethora of individuals. The class-room setting as well as the books that kids carry to their classes have long been a ritual that kids follow. Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free. I agree with this statement. I reckon that the world is developing towards more pragmatic ways of solving problems. And hence, the education system should also revamp the mode of delivery of education inorder to make studying less bland and more exciting. The reasoning being my position will be explained in the paragraphs below.

Firstly, class-rooms have always been a room for teachers to deliver their daily sermon and the students to listen to it. Such a setting is prevalent almost everywhere around the world. Such a communication is a one-way communication which does no good to the students present in the classroom. For example, a teacher is teaching something related to the internal organs of a human-body to a fifth grader. Formal education is a type of education system where the kids just listen to what is being said by their faculty. The teacher has no clue if the kids are grasping what she is teaching. Students in fifth grade might know the basic organs, but a detailed study would probably throw them astray since they have no image or no diagram to relate to. This brings about lethargy as well as disinterestedness among the students. A better approach would have been a pictorial diagram or YouTube video which gives a summary about the whole body, but in an interactive way.

Secondly, formal education will restrict the knowledge of an individual to books itself. Stepping into the real world, a kid will face difficulty adjusting to the practical way of going about their work. This is the reason why a kid should have equivalent practical as well as theoretical knowledge to excel in the world today. Universities have moved towards providing co-operative education as part of the course requirement. People question that such a deviation from education would hinder their rhythm of studying. But these people fail to realize the importance of practical and hands-on experience which a kid fails to achieve while sitting in a classroom listening to the lectures that are being delivered.

Opponents of the above claim suggest that practical education is too much of a burden for kids who are in their nascent years and are getting a hold upon the alphabets of English as well as the numerals present in mathematics. I agree with these individuals that co-operative education methods or even highly practical methods would be a tough task for the kids in their fledgling years to grasp. But if these students are taught concepts by the virtue of interactive videos and playful nursery rhymes, it would definitely leave a more lasting impact on the kids than a one-way delivery of lectures that is prevalent in formal education today.

In sum, I am a staunch believer of the fact that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free. Newer and interactive techniques of imparting education to kids have proved to been fruitful in the recent years by child psychologists. Therefore, in my opinion, it is high time that we move away from conventional techniques such as formal education.