The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station states the he has observed a decline in the number of listeners of his radio station. Therefore, he suggests a few changes and provides supporting evidence to back his claim. The evidences as well as the proposed measures can probably turn the fortunes of WWAC radio station. Although, a closer look suggests otherwise. A few unstated assumptions and premises can put the manager's position in jeopardy. These unstated assumptions will be explained in the paragraphs below.

Firstly, the manager suggests that the radio station, switch the music format to suit the taste of new residents that have recently moved into the city. But he states that the sale of recorded movie has declined. Therefore, people have limited interest for music. A claim has been made here which does not seem to be backed by relevant evidence. How can the slump in sale of recorded music be attributed to a person's limited interest in music? It can be possible that these individuals have found an alternate source for procuring recorded music, probably download it free of cost over the internet, which suggests the slump in local sale of recorded music but which contradicts the claim, that individuals have limited taste in music. Moreover, the number of local shops that were considered in the manager's claim is not mentioned. It can be possible that the decline in sales is for only a few shops while the rest of the shops have a booming sale for recorded music. This again puts into doubt, the manager's evidence.

Secondly, the manager insists on changing the radio station's broadcast format to news and talk format. The author suggests that such a format is already popular in the area. The author though, fails to consider the competition which could already be there in the market. If such a format is famous, there might be radio stations doing a good job with the news and talk format. Therefore, wading through such a competition does not guarantee an increase in listeners. Individuals could be reluctant to move away form the radio stations that already broadcast news and talk formats. Moreover, the radio station could end up loosing more customers if their customer base are critical of news and talk format.

Lastly, the manager suggests that there is a decline in their customer base even with the rise in population. It could be possible that the broadcasting standards of the radio station have fallen below par. Hence, people are moving away from WWAC radio station. If this is the case, it could be difficult for WWAC radio station to gain listeners even after the myriad changes that are suggested by the manager.

In sum, the various assumptions and possibilities listed above cast a doubt on the successful outcome of the changes, suggested by the manager. Therefore, a closer look into the above mentioned possibilities can help the manager plan for a better plan of action.