Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

A leader is an individual that has been entrusted with the power to bring about constructive changes in the life of citizens and maintain an enviornment of harmony and peace. Sometimes, leaders are tyrants who do not pay heed to the public suffering and are only concerned with their own well-being. Such leaders have a few objectives in mind that they wish to achieve, which would eventually bring upon more misery to the public. Such a leader is not deemed fit to be in power and a person who does not consider the public opinion would tend to sway towards greed and corruption. Therefore, I believe that political leaders should consider the opinion of the massess, but not necessarily abondon their principles completely, if they are meant for the betterment of a nation.

A political leader has to always look for ways to develop and upgrade the country. These leaders are tasked with building better roads, improve the education system and the healtcare of the nation and much more. A right approach would be to take a good look into the areas of the nation that require a revamp and let the funds be invested into such ventures. The principals and ideologies of these leaders help them decide the necessary sectors of the country that requires an upgrade. Along with this, the leaders of the country should take into account the public opinion. There could be certain areas that do not require an upgrade in the sectors that have been decided by the top officials of the nation. On the contrary, these people would want the funds to be used in some other sectors which they think would be of importance to them. Public representatives, elected by the people, can take the role of a mediator and put forward the points made by the citizens of a country. Thereafter, the people of the country and leaders of the government can come up with a solution together.

Instances such a national calamity, war or a pandemic are situations wherein the government needs to hold a strong ground and should not yeild to public opinion whereby they demand for answers. This would inly lead to widespread panic and mass hysteria. These are the situations where the leaders of a country should stick to their principles and objectives and should drive the country away from any more damage. The corona virus pandemic has left the whole world in handicapped state. The government of countries wherein the population is large should make sure that panic does not grip the nation and the citizens remain calm. Countries like India and its local governments are doing a great job of ensuring that that the citizens remain calm. The information that is necessary reaches the citizens in a timely manner, but leaders are mindful of divulging extraneous information that could lead to a disarray of national peace.

A leader, in my opinion is an effective leader only when he or she sticks to moralistic principles that are aimed at improving the overall condition of a country. Moreover, a leader who takes into consideration, the opinion and suggestions of his or her fellow citizens makes up to be a truely complete leader. A leader who has moral principles and objectives but who yeilds into the demands of the citizens, irrespective of them being correct or wrong does not make him or her and effective leader. Consequently, a leader who sticks to immoral principles and does not listen to individuals is not an effective leader as well.

Therefore, I believe that a leader becomes truly effective only when he or she sticks to their moralistic principles and also takes into account the suggestions, laid out in fornt him by his fellow countrymen.